To All LinkedIn Posters:

Andrew D Ellis
2 min readJun 25, 2021

$1,000 TO THE CHARITY OF YOUR CHOICE

Shutterstock

I will make a one-time contribution of $1,000 to a charity selected by the first financial institution, law firm, accounting firm, consulting firm or investment bank that describes on LinkedIn a material failure or mistake made by that organization and the steps taken to correct it. (Failures that already made the news, like Enron or Madoff, don’t count nor do “start-up” failures and yes, I will be the final judge of what qualifies and the ultimate winner.)

Today, LinkedIn is increasingly a digital billboard for the professional class that is promoting superior advice, greater wealth and/or a range of goods and services that in some way, shape or form imply a better world — at least for you. But, there’s something missing from this cacophony and that is trust. I have no reason to trust the “what” because I don’t know and therefore don’t trust the “who” and I have no confidence in the “why” (other than profit). My eyes glaze over the endless posts as I search for that missing element.

So, let me put the question nicely. Is there an organization out there that is willing to say publicly, “Yes, we make mistakes. Here’s one that was a whopper and this is what we did about it.” I’d be much more inclined to listen to that organization than to others which are constantly telling me how wonderful each of them is. I like professionals who can admit and learn from their mistakes.

Frankly, I don’t expect to be making this contribution any time soon.

Rules: Post your story by September 1, 2021.

Add a hashtag #FessUp to your post.

Ping me on LinkedIn to let me know you posted.

I will select a winner by September 5, 2021.

--

--