Time for the Net Donor Caucus

Andrew D Ellis
2 min readDec 17, 2020

I’m happy that Joe Biden won but I still hear Howard Beale ringing in my ears.

“I am mad as hell and I won’t take it anymore.”

Sound familiar? Does it feel familiar?

For years and years, there have been a small handful of states that have contributed more to the Federal Government that they receive in Federal spending and other benefits. Leading the pack is my original home state of New York followed by my current home state, New Jersey. Together with Massachusetts and Connecticut (and, to a much lesser extent, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Washington, Colorado, Illinois, and somewhat to my surprise, North Dakota and Nebraska), we are constantly bailing out forty other states which can’t find a way to pay their own bills. They are the leaches of our nation.

Leading the pack of those states addicted to our money, we find the Great Dependent, the State of Kentucky, whose senior senator rails on about “bailing out” New York all the while sucking the Federal coffers dry. And, take a look at which state attorneys general supported overturning the votes of 81 million Americans. Virtually all of them come from net taker states. No surprise — they want to keep the gravy train running. Three cheers for more subsidies, more deficits and more borrowing. Anything to keep themselves in power and taking more than they contribute.

--

--